I Was Mugged by a Theme Park Character

I’m sure most people believe a theme park is one of the safest places on earth, but it’s the only place I’ve ever been mugged.  I realize that sounds absurd, but it’s true.  (And I’ve been to New York!)

Years ago, as a sixteen-year-old girl, I visited a famed park for the first time.  Awed by   the advancements and amusements, I was having one of the greatest days of my life. Wandering around with my family, I entered a gift shop and bought a reversible cap    that was white on one side and decorated in theme park paraphernalia on the other.

Happy with my purchase, I decided to wear it, and I’d just stepped out of the store when I felt a large hand on my head.  My new hat was whisked away in an instant, and I glanced up to behold a strange-looking character–a mule over six feet tall–running away with my cap!  All I could do was watch it vanish into the crowd.

Since I was still outside the gift shop, I marched right back in and told the clerk, “One of your mascots stole the hat I just bought!”  She smiled good-naturedly, as if this happened occasionally. Believing my story, she handed me another hat and I started outside, wary of anyone else who might want to snatch my souvenir.

I’m happy to report that I had no more trouble with muggers during that trip, but I’ve often thought about the incident, wondering what the mascot’s motivation was.  As            I remember that mule-like character disappearing into the throng of people, I wonder        if he wanted to create a scene:  A theme park mascot being chased by a teenaged girl.

If that was his goal, it failed.  For one thing, the mule was swallowed by the crowd far   too quickly for anyone to chase him.  Also, I refused to be further degraded by running after a mascot with a good portion of the park watching.  And what would I have done      if I’d caught up with him?  He was at least half a foot taller than I was.

All these years later, I still have that second cap, which evokes many memories,  including the theft of my newly-bought souvenir.

About dalesittonrogers

I live with my husband, Rick, and our two cats, Mocha and Tiger. I write articles and poetry, and fiction for all ages. I'm excited about my novella, Lost in the Everglades: myBook.to/DaleSRogers and my store: http://www.zazzle.com/designs_by_dale/products?st=date_created Follow me on Twitter! @DaleSRogers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Was Mugged by a Theme Park Character

  1. Great story! I love that you were mugged by a MASCOT, of all people/things. 🙂 And you were smart not to chase him – better to just go in and get another cap. They kind of owed you one, after all.

    I found your blog through Literary Rambles – thanks for sharing!

  2. stephanie710 says:

    Geez Dale that is one of the craziest things I’ve ever heard. I can’t believe those kinds of things take place in family friendly theme parks. I know what you mean that sometimes those things happen so quickly you’re not quite sure what just happened. That’s cool you still have the second hat.

  3. It was really strange.

Leave a Reply

