The Pointe. A Great Getaway for the Day.

I know it might seem odd for me to blog about a restaurant, but The Pointe is so much more than that.  Once a week my husband and I drive thirty minutes to Lake Gaston– one of the most beautiful lakes I’ve ever seen.  The Pointe is just off Eaton Ferry Road near Littleton, North Carolina.  The first thing you’ll notice is the Tiki Hut–a gazebo-like, glassed-in structure on stilts. With wooden tables and high benches, it overlooks the lake and the dock area, where boats and ducks come to refuel. During nice weather, the glass panels are opened to let in lake breezes and nature sounds.  It’s gives a definite vacation feeling, even though we’re not that far from home.

TIKI HUT AT THE POINTE 001

A few steps across a bridge will take you to the main building’s porch next to a picnic  area dotted with red and white umbrellas.  There’s also indoor seating, with a Tiki bar  and a bright color scheme. The friendly service and delicious food keep us coming back, but so do the magnificent view and great music.  (I usually order a hamburger steak with fries and fried okra.)

PICNIC AREA AT THE POINTE 001

When the weather turns cool in the fall, we continue our trips toward the Virginia border, soon to be ensconced on the enclosed porch or in the Tiki Hut, warmed by gas heaters.  The lake and sky seem extra blue that time of year, and we never get tired of  that view.  Even when a hurricane brushed past North Carolina, we made the trek to The Pointe, sitting on the porch, wondering if the plastic canvas would blow in on us.  White caps appeared on the lake and small waves broke on the shore, but we still had a great time.      It was an adventure.

DOCKS & LAKE AT THE POINTE 001

In warmer weather, pontoons and motor boats come and go, and geese mingle with the ducks, hoping to receive some of the food people bring for fish near the docks. The Pointe isn’t just a restaurant.  It’s an experience that varies from an open, summery outing to a cozy getaway, and that’s why we go.

Tiki Hut, The Pointe 001

About dalesittonrogers

I live with my husband, Rick, and our two cats, Mocha and Tiger. I write articles and poetry, and fiction for all ages. I'm excited about my novella, Lost in the Everglades: myBook.to/DaleSRogers and my store: http://www.zazzle.com/designs_by_dale/products?st=date_created Follow me on Twitter! @DaleSRogers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Pointe. A Great Getaway for the Day.

  1. Great information, Dale! I’m going to suggest to my husband that we give it a try!

  2. Nas Dean says:

    Thanks for this information. I feel like visiting now!

Leave a Reply

