Dramatic Rescue

Driving down a familiar street several years ago, my husband and I waited for a traffic light to change, soon becoming aware of a high-pitched noise, almost a scream, but         we couldn’t find its source.  It continued until the traffic started moving, then a man dressed for yard work appeared from behind a church, whistling, then signaling to another man.  They hurried toward the road, then I understood what was happening.

Another man, obviously working on the church grounds, was using a riding lawnmower on the embankment next to the road, and the mower turned over. My view was limited, but it seemed that he caught it with his feet before it could roll on top of him, and he   held it there, emitting a sound his friends could hear over all the noise.

The two men were able to pull the mower off the man safely, then I glimpsed a car            on the road which ran beside the church.  The door was open, and the driver had    jumped out to assist, but the crisis was averted before he could get there. It’s good           to know there are still people willing to lend a hand to a stranger.

Note:  To avoid such an accident, ride up and down an embankment or hill–never horizontally.

About dalesittonrogers

I live with my husband, Rick, and our two cats, Mocha and Tiger. I write articles and poetry, and fiction for all ages. I'm excited about my novella, Lost in the Everglades: myBook.to/DaleSRogers and my store: http://www.zazzle.com/designs_by_dale/products?st=date_created Follow me on Twitter! @DaleSRogers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dramatic Rescue

  1. stephanie710 says:

    Hi Dale. .. what a frightening turn of events for that poor man on the mower. I would never imagine that one would flip over like that. I guess those embankments are tricky. Good information to know, thanks for sharing.

  2. I was so relieved that he seemed to be okay. I’d heard it’s dangerous to ride a mower on an incline, but that really made it clear to me.

Leave a Reply

