CAMP CHRISTMAS

 

Camp Christmas by JK Rock is a novella which is part of the Camp Boyfriend series, and it can also be read as a stand alone.   

Hannah never meant to be a mean girl – at Camp Juniper Point or at her high school.     It just sort of happened during one painful year when her parents split and her life fell apart. Who knew being mad at the world would catapult her to popularity? But since changing the status quo would make her some serious enemies, she’s prepared to ride out her time until graduation. That is, until a camp friend calls her on the act during  their school ski trip. Will Julian out her to her friends?  Or will the guy she once ac- cused of being King of the Nerds make her wish she was a whole lot more like him?

You can find Camp Christmas on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18369835-camp-christmas

Camp Christmas by J.K. Rock!

Release Date: December 17, 2013

Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary                                                                                                                           

Available now!

Grab a copy for $0.99 from amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Camp-Christmas-JK-Rock-ebook/dp/B00HD0LXQU

*****
The Authors

J. K. Rock is the pseudonym for YA writing partners – and sisters-in-law – Joanne & Karen Rock. After years of comparing notes on their favorites books and films, often dreaming up new endings to suit them, they decided to write their own stories. Their first Young Adult book, CAMP BOYFRIEND, is the first in a three-book series. CAMP PAYBACK will be a Spring 2014 release, and CAMP FORGET-ME-NOT arrives in Summer 2014. Visit the Camp Boyfriend website at http://campboyfriend.net to   learn more about the free novellas they are offering readers prior to each full length book. Individually, Joanne Rock is an award winning Harlequin author published       in 26 countries and translated into 20 languages. Karen Rock’s first Harlequin Heartwarming release, WISH ME TOMORROW, is a deeply emotional story                of enduring love.

Goodreads | Author Website | Series Website |

Karen’s Twitter | Joanne’s Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest

 Camp Christmas, A Camp Boyfriend Novella (PDF)

*****

Find J.K. Rock online:

*****
Excerpt
 

Julian

    “I’ve got to get a call out or a text message, but I haven’t had a signal for the last couple of hours.” I put my backpack on and wrapped my cape over it.

     Say what you will about a cape; I’d be the only one warm tonight if we got stuck    out here. My eyes slid to Hannah. I could probably be talked into sharing it.

     Blinking, I forced myself to snap out of it. Just because she remembered some random moment we shared in fifth grade didn’t mean the past was forgiven. But it  had been cool to find out she hadn’t forgotten. That it was still important to her under all the Mean Girl crap she’d worn like armor since junior high.

    “I’m going with you.” She stared at me with her inscrutable eyes, her red hair curling around her shoulders damply now that the snow fell so heavy.

    “It’s safer for you here.” I didn’t need her slowing me down.

    “Doesn’t matter. We’re partners. Buddy system, remember? No arguing.” She yanked her ski cap down farther beneath her helmet so it covered her ears more.    “I’m going.”

    “Don’t go all stubborn on me,” I warned. “This isn’t the same as talking your way  out of a homework assignment. There are real dangers in these woods and they’re  only getting worse as it gets dark.”

 Her eyes narrowed. Her mouth flattened into a thin line. “Which is why I need to protect you.”

    “From bears?” I couldn’t resist.

    “Exactly. I think we can both agree I have bigger claws than you.” She dug her    poles in the snow. “Now get moving before we lose more light.”

     I said nothing. I just started skiing.

We trudged silently for a while, the snow too fresh for any kind of speed. But after         a few minutes she sidled closer.

    “Thanks for not arguing with me.”

    “I did argue. You just refused to listen.”

    She flipped long, damp strands of auburn behind one shoulder as she sighed.           “I know you think I’m this super mean chick, but—”

    “You’re strong and you’re tough. That part’s cool.”

    “Really?” Her voice sounded uncertain in a way that hit me right in the chest.

     I swallowed down the feeling, not ready for it. Not now.

    “Definitely. I don’t mind that you wanted to come with me, Hannah. I like that you speak your mind.” I debated how to put the next part. “It’s when you snark on people to make them feel small…that’s mean. But I don’t think that’s really you.”

    Let her chew on that. I waited for her to jab me in the kidney with a ski pole or step on the back of my ski. But she was so quiet the only sound I heard for a long moment was the rhythmic thunk of her poles in the snow.

     “Of course it’s me. I’m the one who does it.”

     “Yeah, but you do it because your friends expect you to. You got a reputation for being the mean girl, and now you don’t know how to quit.”

     She stopped. Skis, poles, arms…all of it just kind of wilted right there. I paused,   too, turning around to see her face scrunched in a weird, thoughtful way. Frowning, she reached for her chest, her palm and her ski pole resting there like she was holding herself together.

    “What?” I edged backward toward her. “Did you lose something?”

     I couldn’t see the ground clearly in the shadows of shrinking daylight, but I scanned for anything she might have dropped.

    “How do you know that?” She moved closer in a way that made my pulse leap.          “I mean—why would you ever give me the benefit of the doubt?”

     One of her skis slid between mine. She was that close.

     I swallowed hard.

    “You don’t fool me, Hannah.” I shrugged. “I judge people based on what I observe. What I know.”

    “One time, I locked Bobby Randall in the girls’ room. His friends still call him Flush.”

    “Everyone knew he was going to get pounded that day by a senior wrestler from another school. It was obvious to me you saved his life.”

     She rolled her eyes. “I steal hall passes from Ms. Hanrahan’s desk all the time.”

    “You and everyone else.” I noticed that I couldn’t see her freckles as well now that the sun was setting.

    “I shoved Lauren Carlson off a cliff at camp.”

   “Definitely mean. But it was a small cliff, if I remember correctly. And you were having the year from hell.”

    She gasped. “How did you—”

    “I pay way too much attention to you.”

******
My Review

I was immediately pulled into this well-written Young Adult novella by J.K. Rock. Part    of the Camp Boyfriend series, Camp Christmas will not only take you full circle through high school relationships and attitudes, but also a high-stakes adventure.

When Hannah starts off on a yearly Christmas Eve ski trip to the Adirondack Mountains with her private school, a fellow classmate complicates her life. Julian knows her from Camp Juniper Point in North Carolina, but Hannah tries to keep her camp and school lives separate.  In fact, she told Julian not to speak to her when they were ten, and she still holds him to it. But what she doesn’t know is that Julian is changing from a nerd  into a cool teen.

Being the third most popular girl at Northstar Academy is extremely important to Hannah, and it helps her deal with her crumbling home life.  She has a “mean girl” attitude that keeps her afloat with Missy and Bella, who hold the number one and two spots, and if they keep seeing her with Julian, she could lose her status. But she soon learns that her social life isn’t all she has to worry about.

There are very real dangers on Whiteface Mountain in Lake Placid, New York, and Hannah’s small group, which has gone off trail thanks to their lacrosse coach, finds itself dealing with an emergency situation. And in the midst of everything, Hannah must sort through her feelings for Julian, whose kind manner, tall build, and confidence tempt her to overlook his nerd label.

Camp Christmas is a fun book which showcases J.K. Rock’s talent and knowledge, and   it’s the perfect length for a holiday or weekend read. Having read Camp Kiss and Camp Boyfriend also, I look forward to more of the Camp Boyfriend series.

Warning: Girls might find themselves falling for dreamy Julian Berwick, who owns            a cape.

About dalesittonrogers

I live with my husband, Rick, and our two cats, Mocha and Tiger. I write articles and poetry, and fiction for all ages. I'm excited about my novella, Lost in the Everglades: myBook.to/DaleSRogers and my store: http://www.zazzle.com/designs_by_dale/products?st=date_created Follow me on Twitter! @DaleSRogers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

