Do I Use a Comma Before “Too” or “Also?”

writing in the dark

Something I’ve run into fairly recently is whether or not to put a comma before “too”        or “also.”  I’d never thought about it much, and I probably just used one when it seemed necessary, but I started noticing that some writers use one every time. Perplexed, I found the answer in an old grammar book.

It’s actually quite simple: If the emphasis in the sentence is on the word or words just before “too,” put a comma. Otherwise, leave it out.

Whether or not there is a comma can actually change the meaning of the sentence.          For example:

He likes baseball too.

What does this tell us?  He likes baseball as well as someone else. The emphasis is         on the word “he.”

Note the difference: He likes baseball, too.

In this sentence the emphasis is on the word “baseball,” indicating that he also likes other sports or activities.

I keep it straight by separating the emphasized word from “too” or “also” when it’s at the end of the sentence. If the emphasized word is near the beginning, I don’t use a comma.

Here’s another example of how the meaning of a statement is changed depending on whether or not a comma is used:

He’s going to town also.  (He’s going to town as well as another person.)

He’s going to town, also.  (He’s going to town as well as some other place.)

After reading variations of the use of commas before these two words, I’m glad to find     an easy way to be consistent and get it right every time.

About dalesittonrogers

I live with my husband, Rick, and our two cats, Mocha and Tiger. I write articles and poetry, and fiction for all ages. I'm excited about my novella, Lost in the Everglades: myBook.to/DaleSRogers and my store: http://www.zazzle.com/designs_by_dale/products?st=date_created Follow me on Twitter! @DaleSRogers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

